In June 2013, the City of Monterey filed Notice of Intent (NOI) documentation with the State Water Resources Control Board (SWRCB) to comply with the new Small Municipal ("Phase II") General Storm Water Permit (Water Quality Order No. 2013-0001-DWQ) as of July 1, 2013. The NOI documentation includes:

During 2013/2014, the City and it's Monterey regional partner agencies conducted "permit transition" negotiations with RWQCB staff. This effort involved a transition from old regulations (found below) to new, expanded regulations of the Phase II General Permit (adopted February 5, 2013). Each agency, including the City, subsequently finalized its new storm water regulatory "Guidance Documents" in September 2014. 

Background/Existing Permit

The Cities of Monterey, Carmel-by-the-Sea, Del Rey Oaks, Sand City, Seaside, Marina, Pacific Grove and the County of Monterey are eight local agencies that have joined forces to develop and implement a regional storm water program for the Monterey Peninsula and surrounding areas. This group meets monthly to discuss urban runoff issues and implement components of the Monterey Regional Storm Water Management Program (MRSWMP).

The MRSWMP (document outlined below) is a regulatory document that contains the requirements each entity must implement and enforce locally to protect the water quality of waterways like the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. The MRSWMP components are mandated by the State and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) for Phase II communities (those municipalities with a population less than 100,000) per the federal Clean Water Act.

Tricia Wotan
Environmental Reg. Manager

Kevin Anderson
Environmental Reg. Analyst

Engineering Office
580 Pacific Street, Room 7
Voice: (831) 646-3921
Fax: (831) 646-3405

Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm
Closed: 12pm to 1pm