There are two types of inspections performed by the Building Permit & Inspection Services Division: Residential Property Inspections and Construction Inspections

Please call (831) 646-3890 to schedule an appointment.


Residential Property Inspections

A residential property inspection requires that an exterior inspection and report be obtained through Building Permit & Inspection Services prior to the close of escrow, transfer of title for sale or exchange of any residential property, on all single-family dwellings and apartment buildings.

You can email the application to gogreen@monterey.org to schedule a Residential Property Inspection (RPI). Condominiums are exempt.


Construction Inspections

When calling to set up an inspection, please have the following information available:

  • Permit Number
  • Job Address - please include the street name and number
  • Type of Inspection needed
  • Date that the inspection is requested for
  • Name and phone number of whom to contact with questions. No confirmation call will be made.

Please note:

  • For inspections someone must be present. The plans and job card must be left at the site for inspector review.
  • Permits expire one year after permit issuance or last inspection.
  • Inspection requests received before 2:00 p.m. will be scheduled for the next business day.
  • Inspection requests received after 2:00 p.m. may be scheduled on the following day.

New Program as of January 1, 2019

Voice: (831) 646-3890
gogreen@monterey.org

Lori Williamson
Building Official
lwilliamson@monterey.org

Laura Fisher
Administrative Assistant
lfisher@monterey.org

Debra Thomas
Administrative Assistant
thomas@monterey.org
(831) 242-8779

Paul Abadilla
Inspector
abadilla@monterey.org
(831) 242-8795

Kevin Morgan
Inspector
kmorgan@monterey.org
(831) 242-3987

Bill Moritz
Building Technician
moritz@monterey.org
(831) 242-8790

OFFICE HOURS:
Mon -Fri 8 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 12:30 p.m. - 4 p.m.
PERMIT HOURS:
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.; 12:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
(831) 646-3890

Building and Safety Office
580 Pacific Street, Room 4
Monterey, CA 93940